rsync help

I have setup an rsync daemon and it is running. But, I am not able to connect to it form local desktop systems (win/linux). If I try to connect from the same server running the daemon, it works.

For e.g., getting the module list doesn’t work.

C:\rsync>rsync --port=1983 64.27.0.243::
rsync: failed to connect to 64.27.0.243: Connection timed out (116)
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(104) [receiver=2.6.9]

Even if I remove the --port=1983 (which is required), the error returned is same as above. I don’t see any entries for the connect attempts for these on the rsync daemon log, so guessing it doesn’t even gets to the server.

I initially thought the firewall was blocking under windows, but I tested it with a live linux boot cd (damn small linux) and the error returned is same.

Can somebody run the above command and let me know the result?

Thanks.

PS: I am just a novice with rsync.

Anybody???

Is it possible the server 64.27.0.243 has port 1983 firewalled as well, preventing incoming connections?

Yes, that was the reason. My host as opened up that port on the firewall and it finally works now. :slight_smile:

Thanks socheat.

One more problem. I am not able to authenticate with the module. If I remove the authenticatin (auth users =) for the module then I could get the files.

C:\rsync>rsync --port=1983 64.27.0.243::just
@ERROR: auth failed on module just
rsync error: error starting client-server protocol (code 5) at main.c(1383) [receiver=2.6.9]

I have assigned the password (just1234) to the RSYNC_PASSWORD environment variable on the desktop.

The secrets file on server looks like this:

xxx:xxxx
xxx:xxxx
jus:just1234

And the module on the conf file is like this:

[just]
path = /home/xxxxx/just
list = true
auth users = xxx, xxxxxxx, jus
strict modes = false
secrets file = /home/xxxxx/rsyncd.secrets

Any help?
Thanks.

This is on the rsyncd.log.