GZIP /GUNZIP and other questions.

Is Gunzip installed with an intereworx dedicated server (at sagonet)?

I don’t know if it is control panel related or not, so I am posting here :slight_smile:

I am using osCommerce and it makes use of gzip compression http://watch.oscommerce.co.nz/buzz.php?buzz_id=91

Also somebody informed me that the following versions of PHP and MySQL are installed when using the interworx control pane :
PHP 4.2.2-17.2
MySQL 3.23.58-1.9

My current hosting has MySQL 4.0.15 and PHP 4.3.3 (I am moving from them) is it possible to update to the latest stable version when I move host to sagonet with interworx (RH Linux)?

Also I read somewhere “Red Hat 9 has reached it’s End of Life” what does this mean? As I am going for an Interworx control panel dedicated server I need to use Red Hat. If Red Hat is dead (is that what it means?) will Interworx come out under any other varient of Linux in the future?

As you can tell I am a newbie to *nix!!

A PHP script that requires gzip compression and having Gzip installed on your server are very different things. If a PHP script requires it, it just means that it needs to be compiled with the appropriate support for it.

I have an InterWorx server at Sago. The PHP version on mine has support for zlib, which is the library needed to enable GZip compression. You have the appropriate support for it. :slight_smile:

As for upgrading, I’m trying to find out the same thing.

RedHat’s “End of Life” for RedHat 9 simply means that RedHat is no longer supporting it (with patches, updated RPM’s, etc.). It doesn’t mean that it’s dead; it’s just not officially supported by RedHat anymore.

And from what I understand, InterWorx is working on versions of the panel to run on Fedora Core (the un-official continuation of the “desktop” RedHat distribution), CentOS (an open-source clone of RedHat Enterprise Linux), and FreeBSD.