Does R1Soft create a full backup of my server that can be used as a failover solution

Hi guys!
I have a server with OVH and I am looking for a failover solution. First thing that I thought was to setup a similar server, install interworx under a new licence and ask OVH if their failover actually syncs those two servers. Since OVH support is dead I thought to try an alternative solution with R1Soft.

Ideally I want to use R1Soft to copy my server into a backup server, then when I get issues with my main server I will use that backup like an image to setup a new server, then I will switch all of my sites dns to the new server IP(I am using Cloudflare so that is fairly easy to do). Since I am fairly new to all this I want to know if this is possible.
If it is are there any details that I must look for?

Thanks in advance.

Hi onspot

Yes, R1soft could do this, but it would cost you 2 IW and 2 R1soft licenses I think - well 1 more IW license so you have both servers licensed

In essence, quickly thinking, if you have 2 IW servers running, each with R1soft license, you can manually restore siteworx accounts between the R1soft licenses, ie you can choose to restore to the secondary R1soft server and not the primary R1soft license.

Alternatively, you could just have the second server ready, with no IW installed, then if needs require, install IW server, relicense to new server for IW, install second R1soft and do a restore, which saves you monies as this process would not take long

I hope that helps and it was only a quick thought

Many thanks

John

Thanks a lot for your reply John. As I never used R1Soft I didnt know that I needed two licences for this job. I was actually thinking to do the following with 1 IW and R1Soft licence.

• Use my 1 IW licence for the active main server.
  • Buy one R1Soft licence and a backup server where I am going to store those backups, this is a site I found that provides such a service: https://r1softlicenses.com/.