User security ?

Other users (owners of another siteworx account) can simple view files in my html directory, because they are world readable. How can i prevent them ?

Setting proper file permissions is the most immediate answer. Make sure config files with database passwords and such aren’t world-readable.

Other restrictions like enabling safe mode are useful, too.

Thank you for reply, lineman. I’m security professional, i know how to secure scripts on website, but i don’t know, how to do it in Siteworx. Siteworx fileman created files chowned as user:user with chmod 0644. If i strip the world readability (set mode to 0640) webserver cannot read this file. And i cannot change the file owner.
Open_basedir can help, but there can be another hole in other users CGI, or EXEC possibilities. But anyway my question is as “siteworx user”, not “nodeworx user”. The default settings for any admin panel must be secure, not like this one.
I may be wrong and missed something, because i’m new in interworx.

Hi Mkuchar,

As a security professional, how do you secure a script 100% in ANY shared hosting environment? What you’re describing is not an InterWorx problem. It is a shared hosting problem.

This issue has existed for years, and as far as I know there is no truely complete solution. I’d be thrilled if someone could prove me wrong.

Paul

This is something we had to deal with on our box and it’s a pretty frustrating truth. I eventually found my only comfort was the fact that if I was able to solve it, then I would be a millionaire overnight. :wink: