Import / Mass Transfer Questions

I will be changing servers and am considering to use the Mass Transfer option where we can give nodeworx the SSH login for the old server.

My questions:

1. In /home I have some Interworx accounts symbolically linked to a different hard drive. Will Mass Transfer still work normally with the symbolic links?

2. One of my sites has a database that is nearly 2gb when I back it up. Are there any size limitations with this Mass Transfer option?

3. Is there a way to use the Mass Transfer option while at the same time skipping certain things, such as large databases, which I will transfer directly to avoid problems?

Hi John2k

I hope you don’t mind but I think the following (please bear in mind I am no expert and no experience of Mass Transfer sorry)

sym links, I would think the mass transfer would not look at these, just simply copy the information, but you would need to make sure the sym links were still correct to the drive on the new server, or the sites dependant upon them I would expect to fail.

Size, I would think would be much larger then 2GB, I hope so as we have some sites between 50 - 200 GB large (overall, not just the database) but I’m sure you could appreciate the time larger sites may take to transfer

Mass transfer options, I believe there are 2 options (either in web or CLI) where you can either do a full complete transfer or a structure only (please see docs http://www.interworx.com/support/faq/how-to-import-interworx-hosting-accounts/)

I would think you should be alright to do a full mass transfer, unless you wanted to exclude the 2GB site, and do a structure only, with a manual file, database etc transfer.

I hope this helps, and sorry if I am wrong, but if you cannot wait until a more experienced user with mass transfer posts, I would open a support ticket perhaps to have a quicker answer.

Many thanks

John