Newbie Here: Possible Issues with DJBDNS!

Ok, I am used to using bind, I have always wanted to switch to something more secure and when i started using Interworx (3 days now lol) I found interworx uses alot of the software created by the same guys who did djbdns and qmail so I can see security is great!

My problem is this, I have 2 domains on the system which dont seem to want to resolve locally or even remotely, I have attempted to restart the dns server as stated in a post on these forums and still cant seem to get the domain to resolve. What can I do?

The first thing to do is to query the dns servers directly to see if they are advertising the right info. If they are then the problem lies elsewhere.

Just do:

nslookup
> server <IP of your IWorx-CP iterative DNS server. NOT 127.0.0.1!!>
> domain-to-query.com

The above IP after the ‘server’ directive should be an IP bound to your iworx-cp box that you’re expecting to answer queries and that has a dns service on it as listed in the dns overview page.

Chris

Chris,

Thanks for the information, here is what I did and the outcome!

[root@srv003 ~]# nslookup
> server 216.86.157.79
Default server: 216.86.157.79
Address: 216.86.157.79#53
> bionetstudios.com
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
>

Can you verify for me that the 216.86.157.79 IP is listed in the DNS overview as “running” with itertive dns services. You may wan to open as well and provide your login info and we can check it out if.

Chris

Chris,

I appreciate the help, at this current time all of our IP addresses are listed as “Running” under the DNS area for iterative.

I will send you a PM with the login details to the system so that you can verify.

darkstar,

It looks like the iworx cron jobs just weren’t running. I fixed that problem (which fixed the graphs as well btw) and the dns records were exported.

[root@veteatr /var/log]# nslookup
Note:  nslookup is deprecated and may be removed from future releases.