spam issue

Hi, I don’t know if this is the right place to ask for advice on this issue, but I’m a newbie using Interworx and I’m kind of worried about it. I recently moved to this interworx server and in the last few days I’ve noticed users of one of the domains are receiving a lot of spam, mostly attached virus. I have checked thoroughly the headers of these messages and it seems mail have been sent from the server, which leads me to the question, how can I make sure the server is properly closed to relying and how come these messages have the proper headers making them look as if they were sent from my server, or, were they actually sent from there?
Is there anyway to secure qmail to solve this issue?

I’ve just seen all the messages seem to have been sent from the same IP, does interworx has any feature to block IPs? I know how to do it in Apache but it’s not a webserver problem, if I delete this domain from qmail as Chris suggested in another thread for a different problem, will they be still able to send mail relying on the server?

Thanks for your help.

From NodeWorx:

System Services => Mail Server => SPAM Filter Settings

There is an option for global whitelist and global blacklist. I would think that adding the IP to the global blacklist would do the trick here.

I haven’t actually done this myself (yet). Anyone want to confirm or deny?

Tim

Actually the global whitelist and blacklist boxes are for e-mail addresses, and they correlate directly to the whitelist_from and blacklist_from SpamAssassin configuration options, so this won’t block based on IP.

JustMe, it’d probably be easiest if you posted one of the mail headers in question so we can see exactly what’s going on. I’d also recommend enabling Clam Antivirus in NodeWorx => System Services => Virus Filtering, if it isn’t already enabled.

Paul

How did I know it couldn’t be that easy :wink: