Understanding Clustering & Website Requirements

Morning,
I am new to clustering. I am used to traditional hosting of single servers (aka cPanel). A few of my friends are starting two projects/websites that we expect to grow and have high demand. I was considering InterWorx heavily due to the growth as I am not happy with any cloud solutions.

I envisioned that we will start with a single server. We are unsure if our first upgrade will be disk space or dedicated MySQL server. We will assume the later. Obviously this should be pretty simple of a move and I am not concerned with this. Now if we need to upgrade disk space, I see that InterWorx supports a file server (with some considerations).

So with the implementation of the file server, how does that look to the website? If your /home/account/www directory contains the files for the internet, does that mean it is stored on this file server and the app servers just keep a copy?

Should I be using a NFS instead of a file server?

I am sure my post is full of bad assumptions, etc.

Thanks,
Frank

I’d imagine “file server” in the clustering docs is either FC, iscsi, or some sort of NAS solution like NFS. And, yes, I think the idea is that multiple hosts all have access to the same remotely stored home directory structure - that would be how I’d attack it at least. I’m the furthest thing from a storage expert, but IME, NAS is much simpler to implement since it takes care of things like file locking, etc.

So technically the NFS or File Server is the home directory? I guess all of these clusters make it appears as one big machine?

Hi Frank,